Pursuing The Reader’s Standard

Laekan Kemp has written an excellent post about readers. As a reader, I think this post says it all! I, too, am looking for a good story, and an authentic and strong voice. Yes, I agree! This is exactly why I continue to read the series books that I do.

Check out her post!

laekanzeakemp

Earlier this month I completed the final line edit for my fourth novel and this week I’m working my way through the final line edit for my fifth. It’s slow-going and I find myself mulling over the same paragraph for almost an hour or tweaking sentences until they don’t even read like English anymore. The fact is, my brain is exhausted but I still have two hundred pages left to go before it will truly, finally, once and for all be finished. Editing and revisions are always difficult but there is something about that FINAL line edit that is so painstakingly sluggish, I practically feel like I’m moving backwards. Probably, because in many ways, I am.

The library I work at hosted an author event this past Saturday and I got the chance to catch part of the Q&A session. Someone in the audience asked the author when she knows a…

View original post 417 more words

About danielleleneedavis

When you're not writing, how do you spend your time? Eating chocolate. Okay, seriously? I'm usually working at my day job, reading, or helping my daughter with her homework. Those who know me know that I'm not kidding about the chocolate. :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pursuing The Reader’s Standard

  1. Amanda says:

    Just what I needed to hear, Danielle. Very timely. And thanks for your new e-mail address, I wondered why the old one bounced back when I sent you my newsletter!

    Like

  2. This is an interesting post. It seems to me that each reader does have their own standard. What makes me put a book aside unfinished, may not affect the next reader at all, but something that I overlooked may bog another reader down and stop the story for them. I think that’s just the difference in people. I’m not talking really bad writing—I’m thinking about the story.

    And I’m tired, this may not make sense! 🙂 I enjoyed the post, Dani, thanks! 🙂

    Like

What's on your mind?

