Sunday Bits – July 13, 2014 – Let Amazon donate to your favorite charity

Several weeks ago, I signed up for an Amazon program called AmazonSmile. If you haven’t heard of this program, I’m going to tell you about it today. Be happy!
AS1

The charity I chose is Boxer Rescue Los Angeles.  Here’s their AmazonSmile link.
They do good work there and it’s where I found Mocha. Remember her?

Mocha - Dec 27, 2010

Mocha – Dec 27, 2010

The program contributes .5% of your purchase price. The percentage is the purchase price minus rebates, gift-wrapping fees, tax, S&H, service charges, bad debt, and returns. The donation is paid to the charitable organization of your choice at no cost to you or the charity. That’s a win-win, in my opinion.

Half of a percent might not seem like much, but it adds up. Amazon indicates the charity is paid 100% of the donation amount on a quarterly basis. Can’t beat that, can you?

I elected to have the AmazonSmile taskbar app installed on my taskbar.AS2

When I hover over it, I see the AmazonSmile page I’m currently on.

Charities registered with the IRS as 501 (c)(3) organizations who are in good standing are eligible to participate in the program. There’s more information about that here.

Like Amazon.com, there are millions of products available for purchase on AmazonSmile. Recurring subscribe-and-save and subscription renewals aren’t eligible at the time of this post. To determine if a product is eligible, notice they are marked “Eligible for AmazonSmile donation”.
AS6

Purchases made from the Kindle E-reader device through the Kindle store and those made using the Amazon Shopping App aren’t eligible for donations. However, purchases made through your desktop or laptop computer, mobile phone, and tablets (including Kindle Fire) are eligible for donations.

When you create registries on Amazon.com they will appear on AmazonSmile, and vice versa. However, only purchases made on AmazonSmile will be eligible to receive donations. Be sure to tell people to make their purchases on AmazonSmile if you want the charity of your choice to receive the donations!

You can change your charity selection at any time. Click on the dropdown box in ‘Your Account’.
Or by going to ‘Settings’ in your account. What could be easier?
AS7

If you have a favorite charity, check out AmazonSmile, sign up, then look up your charity and select them. From that point on, make your purchases from AmazonSmile instead of Amazon.com. You’d still login as you normally would. Your Amazon Prime membership is also available to use on AmazonSmile.

If you do not have a favorite charity consider selecting Boxer Rescue Los Angeles as your charity. They could sure use the assistance. I’ll be writing a blog post about them soon. Again, here’s their AmazonSmile link. They also have an AmazonSmile button on their home page near the bottom.

If you know of a charitable organization who isn’t registered, let them know about this program. You can still donate to them if you find them on AmazonSmile, but the charity will not receive the donation until they register themselves. Only authorized representatives can register the charity.

If you’re using Amazon.com for purchases anyway, why not sign up for AmazonSmile and help out a charitable organization? As I said previously, there’s no cost to you or the charity. Win-win!

Q&A

Can I deduct the contributions on my federal tax return? No, silly. You’re not the one making the charitable donation.

Are the products different from the items available on Amazon.com?  No.

If I make my purchase on Amazon.com will that count towards a donation?  Nope. The purchase must be made on AmazonSmile (http://smile.amazon.com)

About danielleleneedavis

When you're not writing, how do you spend your time? Eating chocolate. Okay, seriously? I'm usually working at my day job, reading, or helping my daughter with her homework. Those who know me know that I'm not kidding about the chocolate. :-)
This entry was posted in Pets, Sunday Bits and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunday Bits – July 13, 2014 – Let Amazon donate to your favorite charity

  1. Very good to know! I’m surprised that Amazon doesn’t push this more—people like knowing they’re helping a good cause when they spend money with a company—I sure do!

    Thanks for this info, Dani! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree. I understand why it’s not hyped though. They have restrictions on how the charitable organizations can advertise too. It varies by state. That may have to do with state laws.

      I like that they’re not only donating money, but they’re giving the purchaser the opportunity to say where it goes. I’m sure other companies donate to causes too, but this is the first I’ve seen that lets me choose the charity.

      Like

What's on your mind?

