Sunday Bits – June 22, 2014 – Book Design Templates

Last year, as I was writing my first novel, The Protector, my intention was that I’d self publish it. I planned for an ebook version for Amazon, Smashwords, and B&N, plus a paperback printed by Createspace.

I use Scrivener for my writing software and I knew that it could output files for ebooks. However, my version of Scrivener (Windows) did not have the ability to format manuscripts for paperbacks. Sure, I could’ve paid someone to perform the formatting task, but I wanted to do it myself. I like a challenge.

My problem was solved when I found out about Joel Friedlander’s Book Design Templates for Microsoft Word.

I browsed Joel Friedlander’s template gallery for a template appropriate for the type of book I had written. My book’s genre is crime fiction. Therefore, I chose the Bomber template.BomberTemplate

An easy to follow seventy-one page formatting guide was provided. BDTFormatGuideContents

I was able to follow the instructions and complete the formatting of my twenty-six chapter, 400+ page book in a few hours.

I initially had an issue with losing the italics in the manuscript once it was copied to the template. When I re-pasted it using the ‘merge formatting’ option, as the guide suggested, the original italics remained once pasted into the template.
BDT_MergeFormatting

I simply pasted or typed in my own copyright, dedication, and acknowledgments.  There was a section for author information and I pasted my photo and text there.

I modified the drop cap to use two lines instead of the three indicated in the template.

Drop cap

There were running heads.

DLD_Page15

Initially, my PDF failed to upload to Createspace. I tried a couple of times, then went back to the formatting guide. The information was right there.  I’d missed a step!
BDT_ISO_PDFWhen I fixed this issue the file uploaded and was accepted by Createspace.

I couldn’t believe how easy it was to create a beautiful, professional looking paperback so quickly using the Book Design Templates! I’m glad I purchased the multi-book license. I’ll definitely use the templates for my future books.

I can say, without a doubt, the templates saved me a tremendous amount of time. Based on the prices I see advertised to hire someone to format indie books, I know the templates also saved me money. I’m all for that! Who wouldn’t be?

Numerous people have told me the interior pages of The Protector resemble the pages of the New York published books they own. I couldn’t ask for anything more than that.

About danielleleneedavis

When you're not writing, how do you spend your time? Eating chocolate. Okay, seriously? I'm usually working at my day job, reading, or helping my daughter with her homework. Those who know me know that I'm not kidding about the chocolate. :-)
This entry was posted in books. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sunday Bits – June 22, 2014 – Book Design Templates

  1. Wow that’s fantastic. I only did an ebook version of my first novel. Obviously not everyone has an ereader, so some of my friends have been unable to read it. I didn’t do a print run because to be honest I don’t have the funds. But if you could let me know how much it cost you to do some paperback copies of your book, if you wouldn’t mind, that would be great.

    The main drawback for me with the route you took might be the software as I don’t have Scrivener for one thing. I tried the free trial, but I didn’t get on with it and I stuck with Word.

    Like

    • Hi Elaine! Thanks for stopping by and commenting. You won’t need Scrivener at all to use the templates. You’ll use MS Word, which you already have. You’ll paste the text of your manuscript into the templates. Currently, the template I used (Bomber) is priced at $37 for the print version and the multi-book license is $97. When I purchased my templates they were having a sale for 30% off last year. Book Design Templates – Bomber

      Once you have your cover and book interior converted to PDF, you’ll upload them to Createspace. I did my initial cover in Adobe Photoshop and converted it to PDF.

      You don’t have to do a print run at all. It’s POD (Print on Demand). Createspace gets paid their fee for printing when someone buys the book. You’ll only pay out-of-pocket to print your book if you want copies for yourself. You won’t pay the full price though. You’ll pay the Createspace fee for printing, plus the shipping cost. The printing fee is determined by Createspace. The number of pages, trim size, type of paper, etc. all factor into the printing price. Here’s a link with a bit of information.

      You’ll need a different cover designed than what you used for the ebook. This is mainly due to the spine and back cover.

      I hope this helps. Please feel free to ask more questions here and I’ll try to assist. Have a great day!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree. I had several copies printed to give to people, too.

    Like

  3. Excellent information, Danielle! I also have Joel’s templates and have used them for my short stories. I’m working on a full length novel and I will be using Joel’s templates for my paperback when I’m ready for publication.
    You’re a sweet person to share this information, and in such a nice, clear, and concise manner. Thank you! 🙂

    Like

What's on your mind?

