A new cover for The Protector

I recently worked with Deborah, of Tugboat Design. I saw her interview on Mary Rosenblum’s blog.   Thanks, Mary.  🙂

I contacted Deborah after browsing the covers on her site. Her covers are great! I think her designs are better than most of the small press covers I’ve seen. She’s won awards for her cover designs and has done covers for NY Times and USA Today Bestselling authors.

I thought Deborah’s prices were reasonable and she was a pleasure to work with. She sent me ideas for the changes faster than I expected. She was professional and she listened. I’d work with her again without hesitation.

What she did:
She tweaked my ebook and paperback covers. I told her I wanted to use the same photo and asked if she could do anything to make the cover ‘pop’.  I think it was already popping, but I wanted more. Always more, right?  🙂 Deborah told me the photo I had was strong and the font and colors were good choices. She said the only ‘improvements’ she could make would be the placement of the text.  However, she also enlarged the silhouette of the character to make it more prominent on one of the covers.

She sent me three ideas and explained what she did and why. I narrowed it down to two choices. After I had my selections, I thought of adding a tagline to the cover. I sent her the tagline text. She made other modifications in text placement based on my feedback. She updated the two covers and sent me updated files. It was a difficult decision, but I picked one! Either would have worked, but I thought one was a tad stronger.

I’m happy with the results and will upload them today. Now, I can’t wait to get the print book with the updated cover! I’ve been planning to put the paperback images on my website, but haven’t gotten around to it.  I’ll do that when I get the new copies.

If you’re looking for a professional cover designer with reasonable prices, check her out.  She also does promotional materials and interior formatting. I didn’t need those services though—-not at this time, anyway.

Deborah’s website: Tugboat Design.

The Protector before and after.

The Protector cover after update

AFTER

The Protector cover before update

BEFORE

 

About danielleleneedavis

When you're not writing, how do you spend your time? Eating chocolate. Okay, seriously? I'm usually working at my day job, reading, or helping my daughter with her homework. Those who know me know that I'm not kidding about the chocolate. :-)
This entry was posted in books, mystery, promotion, The Protector, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A new cover for The Protector

  1. MLee Hudgins says:

    Wow, that looks great!!!

    On Sun, May 4, 2014 at 3:34 PM, WordPress.com

    Like

  2. Jenny says:

    Very nice, Danielle.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Good news from Sydney Valentine! |

  4. Dani, I like the larger image. I agree with you, the cover has more pop! 🙂

    Like

What's on your mind?

